Français

​CORPORATE GIVING AT McCAIN FOODS (CANADA)

Doing Good

Good people, making good food, with good, wholesome ingredients that make people feel good.

That is the philosophy behind McCain It’s All GoodTM.  It is also the philosophy we have used to develop the following guidelines for Corporate Giving at McCain Foods (Canada).

 

Charitable Donations

McCain Foods contributes to worthy causes around the world, primarily handled by the regions.  Most of our charitable donations in Canada are made through The McCain Foundation, the company’s philanthropic arm. The McCain Foundation supports not-for-profit organizations throughout Canada, but focuses on the communities in which we operate. It has a particularly strong focus on charities in Atlantic Canada, where the company began more than 50 years ago and still maintains its deep New Brunswick roots. 

The McCain Foundation accepts applications for funding that fall into one of the following five categories:  Education, Health and Welfare, Civic Projects, Arts and Culture and the Environment.  The Foundation has donated many millions of dollars to Atlantic-based universities and hospitals, recognizing the value of these institutions to their communities.

Requests for charitable donations should be directed to The McCain Foundation at info@mccainfoundation.org or to The McCain Foundation, 8800 Main St. Florenceville-Bristol, NB E7L 1B2.

The McCain Foundation will continue to play the central role in our corporate giving strategy by donating to broad community and arts projects, allowing McCain Foods (Canada) to focus on areas that are specifically aligned with our business strategies.


Food First

Because we are a food company, it makes sense that we should help feed the hungry.  Last year, almost 900,000 individuals turned to foods banks across the country every month and more than one-third of them were children.  We believe we have an opportunity to truly make a difference through financial contributions, product donations and employee volunteer efforts both at the national level and in the communities in which we live and work.

It is important that our efforts are meaningful and have a significant, positive impact.  Last year, we donated more than $1 million in cash and food to Food Banks Canada, a registered charity and national association representing 10 provincial members and more than 450 food banks and programs across Canada.  It is the voice for the hungry in Canada and the charity of choice for McCain Foods (Canada) as we focus our efforts to have a national impact on the hunger issue in Canada.
We also sponsor the annual National Hunger Awareness Day and are the founding sponsor of the Feeding Families program which provides money to food banks that wish to develop new or enhanced programs that directly impact families.

 

Community Giving

In addition to our commitment to help fight hunger, we also respond to the needs of their local communities as appropriate. All requests for product or financial donations (that fall outside of those appropriate for The McCain Foundation or business-related sponsorships) should be sent in writing to donations@mccain.ca.  The requests should include full details of what is requested, for what purpose and the date required.  Donation requests will be considered four times a year—at the end of January, April, July and October.  To help ensure that our donations do the most good for the greatest number of people, we do not sponsor individuals in their fund-raising efforts. 

To maximize efficiencies, donated products will only include what is made, packaged, or warehoused at each location and must be picked up by the recipient. We cannot ship product from other locations or deliver product to requesters. Packaging, ingredients, and co-manufactured products are not available for donation.

The work of The McCain Foundation, our focus on fighting hunger in Canada, and our support for the communities in which we live and work are all part of our commitment to the spirit of McCain It’s All GoodTM.  We are good people, doing good things, that make ourselves and others feel good.

Corporate Giving at McCain Foods (Canada)

Dons d’entreprise chez McCain Foods (Canada)

 

Être bon. Faire le bien.

De bonnes personnes qui font de bons aliments à partir de bons ingrédients qui aident les gens à se sentir bien.

Voilà la philosophie de McCain.  C’est également la philosophie sur laquelle nous nous sommes appuyés pour développer les directives suivantes sur les dons d’entreprise chez McCain Foods (Canada).

 

Dons de charité

McCain Foods offre son soutien à des causes nobles partout dans le monde, soutien principalement géré de manière régionale.  Au Canada, la plupart de nos dons caritatifs sont effectués par l’entremise de la McCain Foundation, la division philanthropique de l’entreprise. La McCain Foundation aide des organismes à but non lucratif partout au Canada, mais se concentre sur les communautés où notre entreprise exerce ses activités. Elle se concentre particulièrement sur les organismes caritatifs du Canada atlantique, où l’entreprise a commencé il y a plus de 50 ans, et elle entretient ses racines profondes au Nouveau-Brunswick.

La McCain Foundation accepte les demandes de financement qui correspondent à l’un des cinq domaines suivants :  l’éducation, la santé et le bien-être, les projets civiques, les arts et la culture et l’environnement.  La fondation a fait don de plusieurs millions de dollars à des universités et à des hôpitaux de la région Atlantique en reconnaissance de la valeur qu’ont ces institutions pour leur communauté.

Les demandes de dons caritatifs doivent être envoyées à la McCain Foundation par courriel à l’adresse info@mccainfoundation.org ou par courrier à l’adresse suivante : The McCain Foundation, 8800 Main St. Florenceville-Bristol, Nouveau-Brunswick  E7L 1B2.

La McCain Foundation continuera à jouer un rôle central dans notre stratégie de dons d’entreprise en effectuant des dons à des projets communautaires et artistiques, ce qui permettra à McCain Foods (Canada) de se concentrer sur les domaines qui correspondent à nos stratégies d’entreprise.

 

La nourriture d’abord

Comme nous sommes une entreprise alimentaire, il est logique que nous aidions à nourrir ceux qui souffrent de la faim.  L’an dernier, près de 900 000 personnes ont obtenu l’aide de banques alimentaires au pays chaque mois; plus du tiers d’entre elles étaient des enfants.  Nous croyons avoir la possibilité de changer les choses au moyen de contributions financières, de dons de produits et d’activités de bénévolat de la part de nos employés, tant à l’échelle nationale qu’au sein des communautés où nous vivons et travaillons.

Il est important que nos efforts soient significatifs et qu’ils aient un effet positif et concret.  L’an dernier, nous avons fait don d’un million de dollars en argent et en nourriture à Banques alimentaires Canada, un organisme de bienfaisance national enregistré qui représente 10 membres provinciaux et plus de 450 banques alimentaires à l’échelle du Canada.  Cet organisme est la voix de ceux qui souffrent de la faim au Canada et est l’organisme caritatif de choix pour McCain Foods (Canada) pour concentrer nos efforts à éliminer la faim à l’échelle nationale au Canada.

Nous commanditons également la Journée nationale contre la faim et sommes le commanditaire fondateur du programme À table en famille, qui fournit du financement aux banques alimentaires qui désirent développer ou améliorer des programmes qui aident directement les familles.

 

Dons à la communauté

En plus de notre engagement à lutter contre la faim, nous répondons également aux besoins des communautés locales, selon les besoins. Toute demande de dons de produits ou d’argent qui dépassent le cadre des commandites en lien avec l’entreprise par la McCain Foundation doit être présentée par écrit à l’adresse donations@mccain.ca.  Ces demandes doivent comprendre une explication détaillée de ce qui est demandé, préciser les fins de la demande et indiquer la date où le soutien est nécessaire.  Les demandes de dons sont évaluées quatre fois par année : à la fin-janvier, en avril, en juillet et en octobre.  Pour nous assurer que nos dons viennent en aide au plus grand nombre de personnes possible, nous ne commanditons pas des particuliers pour leurs efforts de financement.

Pour maximiser l’efficience, les produits ne comprennent que ce qui est fabriqué, emballé ou entreposé à chaque emplacement, et le destinataire doit venir les chercher. Nous ne pouvons pas expédier des produits depuis d’autres emplacements ou livrer des produits aux demandeurs. Les emballages, les ingrédients et les produits fabriqués en coproduction ne sont pas disponibles pour des dons.

Les activités de la McCain Foundation, nos efforts pour éliminer la faim au Canada et notre appui aux communautés où nous vivons et travaillons font tous partie de notre engagement à l’esprit de McCain. Nous sommes de bonnes personnes qui font de bonnes choses et qui nous font nous sentir bien, les autres comme nous-mêmes.